Why are there multiple train types for the same route ? (Hikari, Sakura, Nozomi, Kodama...)

Customer Support Team
Customer Support Team
  • Updated


  • Nozomi: Among the Tokaido/Sanyo Shinkansen, the Nozomi is the fastest train. It stops only at the most numerous train stations between Shin-Osaka and Hakata. With a top speed of 168 mph (270 km/h), Nozomi's fastest train model, the N700 series, covers 515 km from Tokyo to Shin-Osaka in around 2 hours and 22 minutes.

  • Hikari: Hikari is a fast service that operates on the Shinkansen lines between Sanyo and Tokaido. This train travels faster to its destinations than the Kodama shinkansen, which travels even farther between stops, but it makes more stops than the Nozomi.

  • Kodama: Every station the Nozomi passes along the Tokaido/Sanyo Shinkansen's route is where this train stops. Because of this, this service is the slowest of all shinkansen and is mostly utilized for transfers between smaller stops, including Atami in Shizuoka Prefecture. Train passengers in affluent cities like Tokyo and Osaka frequently take the Nozomi or Hikari lines, which make fewer stops.

  • Mizuho: The JR West & JR Kyushu N700-7000 & N700-8000 series, which travel between Shin-Osaka & Kagoshima-Chuo, are among the Mizuho bullet trains. With a shortest journey time of 3 hours and 45 minutes, this class of trains contains sets of 8 cars, some of which are 25 minutes quicker than the Sakura bullet trains.

  • Sakura: The Sakura Bullet Train operates between Shin-Osaka and Kagoshima-Chuo and is controlled by JR Kyushu. The Sakura's itinerary and destination are comparable to the Hikari's, with stops at Shin-Kobe, Okayama, Hiroshima, Kokura, Hakata, Kumamoto, and Kagoshima, among other places.

  • There are three shinkansen services that travel to and from Kanazawa on the Hokuriku Shinkansen line. These are the Kagayaki, the Hakutaka, and the Tsurugi.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful



Please sign in to leave a comment.