Using the Yamanote Line in Tokyo

Customer Support Team
Customer Support Team
  • Updated

The Yamanote Line is a railway loop in Tokyo operated by JR East, completing a full circuit in approximately one hour. It is an essential commuter line, connecting major stations such as Tokyo, Shinjuku, Shibuya, Ikebukuro and Ueno.

The trains on the Yamanote Line are equipped with on-board colour screens above the doors telling you what the next stop is, how long it will take to get there and which side of the train the exit door will be.

This line links 30 stations and stands out with its distinct green colour and the abbreviation JY. Each station is designated with a specific number; for instance, Ikebukuro is marked as JY 13, while Shibuya is identified as JY 20.

If you have a JR Pass, you can use it on the Yamanote Line without having to buy extra tickets.

You can find details about the stations on the Yamanote Line, as well as more general information in our article: The JR Yamanote Line

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful



Please sign in to leave a comment.